Oh Low (My Mega Mind Voice)

This is my first blog post ever and I am so excited to get to know all of you and share a bit of myself and family with you as well.  I plan on posting once a week and see where that gets me on Fridays.  I plan on writing about being a functioning Christian family.  What I’ve done and didn’t work, what has worked, and what the Bible says.  I am a bit out of practice in writing but hopefully myself will come out in my writing without to much pain.  To introduce myself I am dubbed Jamie by my daddy almost 26 years ago.  I have one husband whose name is Darling, one child of the male counterpart called Bean, and another child of the female kind whose called Pumpkin.  Our pets include a plant named Rosebud, a dog named Bailey, and recently Seamonkies (not sure if that’s correct). I will also be sharing projects that I try to do and I do lots of things.

Most recently I read a book called “A Woman After God’s Own Heart” by Elizabeth George and while there is a ton of wonderful revelations in this book that I have put into practice the thing that was most important to me at the time I read it was a Heavenly home, or making your home a place of loveliness.  The changes I have made are small but really profound and pretty inexpensive.  The book talked about how having this house of not just cleanliness but joyfulness and prettiness puts a family and visitors at ease.  One thing I have done every week, is I go to Tom Thumb and I buy the cheap fresh flowers. They do a $5 Friday where some store items are $5.  They usually have a flower for $5 so I pick some of them up and place them around my house.  (And to think I almost put all those vases in a garage sell.)  It has really brightened up our lives by having fresh flowers near by.  One project for the future is to get real flowering plants and have a garden where I can cut my own but right now I’m just thankful for a great floral department I can count on. 

I know that appearances are not the most important things in life but your house is your home and to make it look as nice as possible for your family is a way to show your love to them and to show them that you are consistent in caring for them.  I have also placed scented candles in certain rooms like the bathroom and it is just so pleasant to be greeted with an aroma of calm vanilla.  Next on my list, is to sew together some curtains for the windows missing their eyebrows. 

I have come to love Proverbs 31, it used to make me mad when my direction was selfish but now I try to yield my heart to God and what his will is and I believe that his will for the caretaker of a home is to make it as nice and beautiful as they can and God will do the rest.  When we are weak we are strong.  It’s hard to go back and explain it all because these changes in heart, head, and spirit have taken months and I have diligently worked but the Spirit of the Lord helped in a tremendous way in making my home lovely for my family by rearranging, getting rid of, and decorating.  Then, He gave me ideas about the flowers and the candles and reminded me at the store what the goal of my household was so if I saw a clearance item that would improve my home I would buy it instead of thinking we don’t need that.

I would like to leave you with a verse Proverbs 31:27- She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.

I encourage everyone of you to look over your houses and ask God how can you make this a home?  He knows your intimate situation and your household change might not be how mine was but the difference in the attitudes will be present when you make positive changes in the life of your home I believe this and my family is proof. 

Everyone of God’s Blessings,

Jamie*

2 thoughts on “Oh Low (My Mega Mind Voice)

  1. Im looking forward to reading more of this 🙂 I used to be the same way when it came to money and thinking we didn’t need to do things. But I found small ways to make my home comforting and peaceful for anyone who walks in.

    Like

    • Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. I enjoy writing but really don’t have the time to on any daily basis so God told me just start a blog post once a week it will be good and helpful even if it is just for me. lol. I’m so glad you enjoyed it though and have done things to make your house a home. I’m brainstorming for next Fridays post. I am very excited. Happy Reading,
      Jamie*

      Like

Leave a Reply

