My One Thing

We live in a selfish culture, selfish with our time, money, resources; and selfish with our compassion and mercy as well. The real problem is that it didn’t just happen overnight; we had a horrific event happen before we became so self involved to this extent. America quit fearing and worshipping the Lord, which caused us to quit seeking after Him and seeking counsel and friendship with people who are like minded. We became selfish with God only giving Him so much and gave the Devil a huge door to step through into our lives and destroy them, to lie to us, and to make us afraid. People have used excuses to calm their hearts and minds that sleeping in, football, work, and various other activities are ok and God knows your heart. I know God knows your heart but if your thinking and reasoning is that God will say that an apathetic heart is acceptable and there is nothing wrong with that; there is a huge problem and that is a lie.

I love the grace that I experience on a day to day basis I am a horrible sinner all the time, I am sure there is things that are sin that I am not even aware of that I do. I know I am incapable of following the full letter of the law, but that by no means that it is useless to try my best. When you try your best, when your best is 10% and you give that 10% God will give you 1000%; He will meet you where you are at. If you say you are a Christian then you need to be aware that you are expected to try your best and allow the Holy Spirit to lead you to GET BETTER in your PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP with this awesome God. Personal relationship with Him is and should be the desire for all Christians. You will not be satisfied until you are intimate with each other letting Him be in the driver’s seat.

God is the same yesterday, today and eternity so if He was jealous after the hearts of the Israelite’s then He is jealous after your heart today. He gave His life for us and by being apathetic we will get nowhere with Him. That is a sin and I am sorry if that is news to you but He is clear in the Ten Commandments. For Christians that is still the standard of how we should live whether the rest of the country or world agrees with us; God hasn’t changed even though we have in our culture.
I hear people say that why God doesn’t do something I have asked and asked and asked Him to do? I want to ask them well do you do everything God asks you to do. We are so quick to get angry with Him when our (usually caused by self) problems are not neatly dealt with but if He asks us to do something we usually slink back and say oh no I can’t do that. I hear people at churches saying “where are the wonders we are suppose to see the greater wonders” and I wish I could ask do you think He is going to be able to work through people who are only willing to give him an inch instead of a mile. The apostles spent their lives devoted to telling the grace and truth; that relationship should be our priority. Not just a priority but the first priority. The time to prepare is now, time to listen is now, time for church is now. Understand they went to the temple every day, I myself am involved in a church group four times a week and I read my Bible almost daily even if it is just a minute it is in my purse I carry it around. I do this because I understand that I can’t raise the dead if I can’t even pick up the Bible or spend an hour in prayer or stop my car at an inconvenient time when prompted by the Holy Spirit. These practices are preparing me for bigger wonders. I urge you to ask the Almighty One this week what He wants you to do, where should you start in broadening your horizons in y’alls relationship; then obey Him. He will bless you for your faithfulness and be such a proud daddy. I am going to do this challenge with you as well. I will post in the comments when it comes to completion and I encourage you to do the same. If you haven’t read the full first four commandments here they are in their fullness of the Amplified Bible.

Exodus 20:2-11-I am the Lord your God, Who has brought you out of Egypt out of the house of bondage. You shall have no other gods before or besides Me. You shall not make any graven images or any likeness of anything that is in the heavens above or that is in the Earth below or that is in the water under the earth. You shall not bow down to them for I the Lord your God am a jealous God visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon children to the third and fourth generation of those who hate Me. But showing mercy and steadfast love to a thousand generations of those who love Me and keep my commandments. You shall not use or repeat the name of the Lord your God in vain that is lightly or frivolously in false affirmations or profanely for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes His name in vain. Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy withdrawn from common employment and dedicated to God. Six days shall you labor and do all your work. But the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God in it you shall not do any work you or your son, your daughter, your manservant, or you maidservant, your domestic animals, or the sojourner within your gates. For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea and all that is in them and rested the seventh day. That is why the Lord blessed the seventh day and hallowed it set it apart for His purposes.

Quick apology that this is posted on Saturday instead of Friday, please keep my grandpa in your prayers he is having heart trouble and we were at the hospital instead of posting. Blessings, Jamie*

Leave a Reply

