The Shaking

I am a piece of work I am here to tell you. I have so much to say today as I have been silent for a long time. I fall into temptation daily, I think I don’t have time and that is so sinful. Or maybe worse I think I will do it later and then I don’t, story of my summer. Please, Jesus and you my audience forgive me of my fleshy behavior. But, what a time we live in. Where the manifestation of God’s great power will come to those who will hold strong. Our feelings are liars. I think that is one of the biggest, boldest, and most disgusting lie we have ever let grow in our minds and hearts; is that we should follow OUR hearts and minds. We should follow God’s heart and His mind (Prov. 3:5-6).
Job, poor Job he was the biggest experiment for the devil per God’s allowance and he came out on the other side of it without cursing God’s name. Our thoughts only go so far but our actions and our words show the world what we are made of. Job was in sackcloth and ashes for a long time. His trial was hard, but he didn’t follow his heart or his head. He made up his mind before his trial that he would serve the Lord regardless of the cost. It cost him his family, fortune, among other things; and he continued to stay righteous. He didn’t follow his feelings. Jesus asked for his trial to be taken and in the same prayer to his Daddy he said unless that’s not your will (Lk 22:42). Jesus didn’t follow His feelings or His whims; he stayed the course. Who are you serving? Really? Look into your heart and your life and where your time goes and be truthful. Are you serving God or is it lip service?
I hate to say it, but I think it; that we are going to be shaken. We need to prepare our hearts and minds; prepare our children’s hearts and minds for any fateful day even if it isn’t “the” shaking. How many people would weather better if they had Christ? The world would. We need to stop relying on ourselves and let God war for us. Our struggle isn’t against flesh and blood but against the dark one. (Eph. 6:12)
A literal example of how our feelings are liars is; you always feel well before you are sick. Some sickness does come gradually but for most part; you are well one day and the next you’re not. But the virus or bacteria was there before you felt it, you feel it because it is starting to take over. See how unfounded our feelings are. When I follow my feelings and my whims and they land me in trouble either because I just had to say something I shouldn’t. Or even worse I let those negative feelings allow me or give me justification for doing negative behavior. I heard the verse today that says you should bring every thought captive and into the righteousness of God (2 Cor 10:5). I think there is an argument here that our feelings produce thoughts; so we should in turn, bring our feelings captive and into the righteousness of God- for OUR sake. It is what we are told to do. We are also told to dwell on thing that are true, honest, just, pure, lovely, good report, if there be any virtue if there be any praise think on these things (Phil 4:8)
I challenge you to think of the things God has worked out for you in your life. For me I got a lot and I bet that you got quite a few as well; write them down this week when you start to feel the pull of those feelings you want to act on and bring it captive before God. Before the trials of life come is when we should decide who our King is. It is easier having a problem with Jesus then a problem and you have to search for a solution and then find Jesus. We can all be better; I included.
Pray for your children, their schools and work places, Israel, America, your church. Taste and see the Lord is good (Ps 34:8). Read Job; its long but it is worth it and you can see for yourself just how far he went without his feelings interfering with God or His truths. Last thing, we are told to delight in the law (Ps 1:7 & Rom 7:22) that there is perfection in it. We don’t want to hurt people’s feelings, but on judgment day a lot of people’s feelings would be hurt. A small consequence with the big picture in mind.

Leave a Reply

