I Just Stumbled on a Windfall.

Literally just stumbled on something amazing!  We all know John 3:16  “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life.”  We see this verse and it is powerful for many reasons.  We also see that God gave His son as a eternal sacrifice for our sins, so we could have fellowship with Him, so we can go to Heaven, and much more.  Hallelujah!  But this isn’t what I stumbled upon.

What I stumbled upon can be found in the King James Version and it reads: John 10:29- My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.

New King James Version Reads-  John 10:29- My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of my Father’s hand.

Revised Standard Version Reads- John 10:29- My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.

Amplified Reads-  John 10:29-  My Father, Who has given them to Me, is greater and mightier than all [else]; and no one is able to snatch [them] out of the Father’s hand.

New International Version Reads- John 10:29-  My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.

Did you catch the difference?  The difference between all the other versions and the King James Version is the wording of who gave to whom.  In the King James Version God gave us’ Jesus.  In the others we were given to Jesus by God.  I am splitting hairs I know.  Both are equally awesome! Being given to Jesus and Jesus being given to us.  I am 100% positive both have happened simultaneously because of John 3:16.  I am not a heretic.  I just though I should share that profound windfall because I hadn’t really thought about it that hard before or maybe even considered that Jesus was given to us in that way.  Maybe I thought it was simply business, had to be done sort of thing; I am not sure why; I just love that so much.

God really does love us!  When I read this in the King James Version I felt filled with joy.  I look at that like a promise, like being loved, like a marriage almost.  We are given into marriage, not to weird or anything; and it is a common analogy in the Bible.  God gave us Jesus and God gave us to Jesus.  What harmony.  I hope you are encouraged by this as I was.  Enjoy your weekend.

Blessings,  Jamie*

I would also like to point out that I own all but the NKJV (I borrowed it for study) and I am in possession of every one of these Bibles I quoted.  I typed it exactly how it was written. They are not from the internet or a phone they are hard and un-updateable Bible copies and most published over 10 years ago with the exception of one to my knowledge.  Just an FYI. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Just Stumbled on a Windfall.

Leave a Reply

